Tibet : Tibet at a Glance


     - Tibet Autonomous Region
     - Capital: Lhasa
     - Official Language: Chinese
     - Currency: Yuan
     - Time-zone: GMT +08:00

     Tibet, pronounced in Lhasa dialect is a region in the central asia.
     Tibet is located on the Tibetan Plateau, the world's highest region. Most of the Himalayan Range lies on its border with Nepal, even the world's highest peak, Mt. Everest (8,848 metres) is located on the border with Nepal. Several major rivers have their source in the Tibetan Plateau (mostly in the present day Qinghai Province, including Yangtze, Huang He, Indus, Mekong, Brahmaputra and the Ganges.
     Tibet is the traditional centre of Tibetan Buddhism, a distinctive form of Vajrayana. Tibetan Buddhism is not only practiced in Tibet, it is also the prelevant religion in Mongolia and largely practiced by the Buryat people of Southern Siberia. Tibet is also home to the original spiritual tradition called Bön.
      Lhasa is Tibet's traditional capital and the capital of Tibet Autonomous Region. Other cites in Historic Tibet include Shigatse, Gyantse, Chamdo, Nagchu, Nyingchi, Barkam and Sakya.
© Spirit of the Himalayas, 2005. All rights reserved.